Skip to main content


Consolidating Armstrong State University & Georgia Southern University

In January 2017, the University System of Georgia Board of Regents voted to consolidate Armstrong State University and Georgia Southern University. The new, 27,000-student university is named Georgia Southern University with campuses in Savannah, Statesboro, and Hinesville. The​ ​​timeline​ ​for​ ​the​ ​first​ ​entering​ ​class​ ​will​ ​be​ ​fall  2018.​ ​​We​ ​are​ ​excited  about​ ​the​ ​future​ ​of​ ​the​ ​new​ ​Georgia​ ​Southern​ ​and​ ​how​ ​we​ ​can​ ​better​ ​serve​ ​students!  Complete details about consolidation can be found at

For additional information on the timeline, how to apply, and choosing your campus, please see the Office of Admissions consolidation web page.

Our College Updates

Posted February 12, 2018

Links to Useful Resources

Everything you need to know for the New U:

Posted December 13, 2017

On December 12, 2017, the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia (USG) granted final approval for the creation of the new Georgia Southern University through consolidation. The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) approved our prospectus for the new, consolidated Georgia Southern University on December 5, 2017.

Georgia Southern University and Armstrong State University will be consolidated as the new Georgia Southern University, effective January 1, 2018.

Note: For the 2018 spring and summer terms only, existing Armstrong students should continue to access resources through the Armstrong Current Students Hub.

Posted September 30, 2017

Allen E. Paulson College of Engineering and Information Technology will become the Allen E. Paulson College of Engineering & Computing in the new, consolidated Georgia Southern University.

We will be adding four Master of Science programs and two Bachelor of Science programs. Some departments will change their names to reflect the new degree programs.  

  • The department of Civil Engineering and Construction Management will become Civil Engineering and Construction, adding a B.S. in Construction Engineering and M.S. in Civil Engineering.
  • The department of Computer Sciences will change its name to Computer Science.
  • The department of Electrical Engineering will become Electrical and Computer Engineering, adding a B.S. in Computer Engineering and M.S. in Electrical Engineering.
  • The department of Information Technology will be adding the MS in Information Technology.
  • The department of Mechanical Engineering will be adding the M.S. in Mechanical Engineering.

Degree Program Offerings by Campus Location

You can search or sort the table below to determine degree program offerings by campus location.

DepartmentDegrees & MajorsArmstrongLibertyStatesboro
Civil Engineering & ConstructionBS in Civil Engineering X
Civil Engineering & ConstructionBS in ConstructionX
Civil Engineering & ConstructionBS in Construction EngineeringX
Civil Engineering & ConstructionMS in Civil EngineeringX
Computer ScienceBS in Computer ScienceXX
Computer ScienceMS in Computer ScienceX
Electrical & Computer EngineeringBS in Electrical EngineeringX
Electrical & Computer EngineeringBS in Computer EngineeringX
Electrical & Computer EngineeringMS in Electrical EngineeringX
Information TechnologyBS in Information Technology (IT)XX
Information TechnologyMS in Information Technology (IT)X
Information TechnologyBS in Information TechnologyONLINEONLINEONLINE
Manufacturing EngineeringBS in Manufacturing Engineering***X
Manufacturing EngineeringMS in Applied EngineeringX
Mechanical EngineeringBS in Mechanical Engineering***X
Mechanical EngineeringMS in Mechanical EngineeringX

*** Program in Development

The consolidation of Georgia Southern University and Armstrong State University is pending approval from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges and the University System of Georgia Board of Regents.

Last updated: 3/15/2018