CEC

Departments

Much of what we do at CITEMS is interdisciplinary. Faculty within the College of Engineering and Computing and other divisions across the university often collaborate to provide applied solutions for our partners. College of Engineering and Computing department specific resources are provided below.

Civil Engineering and Construction

Departmental Links

Civil Engineering and Construction Department

Faculty Directory & Research Specialties

Applied Research Laboratories
Laboratory Faculty Member Office Phone Email
Asphalt Laboratory Dr. Junan Shen (912) 478-0084 jshen@georgiasouthern.edu
LaSurCam Dr. Gustavo Maldonado (912) 478-0016 gmaldonado@georgiasouthern.edu

Computer Science

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Departmental Links

Electrical & Computer Engineering Department

Faculty Directory & Research Specialties

EE Research Areas and Capabilities
  • Antennas
  • Bioinstrumentation
  • Cognitive Radio Networks
  • Cybersecurity
  • Fiber Optics
  • Smart Grids
  • Power Systems
  • Robotics
  • Wireless Networking
Applied Research Laboratories
Laboratory Faculty Member Office Phone Email
Antennas and Wireless Propagation (AWP) Dr. Sungkyun Lim (912) 478-2266 sklim@georgiasouthern.edu
CWiNs: Cyber-security, Wireless Systems & Networking Dr. Danda B. Rawat (912) 478-0539 drawat@georgiasouthern.edu
NetCPS: Networked Cyber-Physical Systems Dr. Danda B. Rawat (912) (912) 478-0539 drawat@georgiasouthern.edu
RIOS: Robotics & Intelligent Systems

Dr. Rocio Alba,

Dr. Fernando Rios

(912) 478-5103,

(912) 478-5005

ralba@georgiasouthern.edu,

frios@georgiasouthern.edu

Information Technology

Departmental Links

Information Technology Department

IT Faculty Directory and Research Specialties

IT Research Areas and Capabilities
  • Cloud Computing
  • Computational Benchmarking
  • Big Data
  • Data Analytics
  • Data Mining
  • Business Intelligence
  • Cyber-security
  • Network & Wireless Security
  • Data Security
  • Digital Forensics
  • Disaster Recovery
  • IT Infrastructure
Applied Research Laboratories
Laboratory Faculty Member Office Phone Email
Cloud Computing Research Laboratory Dr. Russell Thackston (912) 478-4218 rthackston@georgiasouthern.edu

Manufacturing Engineering

Manufacturing Engineering Department

MfgE Faculty Directory

Manufacturing Engineering Research Capabilities
  • NanoMaterials Processing
  • Impact Resistant Materials
  • Friction Stir Welding
  • Additive Manufacturing
  • Manufacturing Automation
  • 3D Printing Process Development
  • 3D Printed Metals
  • Laser & Electronic Beam Melting
  • Simulations
  • Industrial Robot Applications

Mechanical Engineering

Departmental Links

Mechanical Engineering Department

MechE Faculty Directory

Mechanical Engineering Research Areas and Capabilities
  • Composite Materials
  • Combustion
  • Computational Fluid Dynamics
  • Engineering Management
  • Experimental Fluid Dynamics
  • Heat Transfer
  • Mechanical System Design
  • Mechatronics
  • Manufacturing & Safety
  • Solid Modelling & Analysis
  • Tribology
Applied Research Laboratories
Laboratory Faculty Member Office Phone Email
B-IRIS (Mechatronics and Controls) Dr. Samanta (912) 478-0334 bsamanata@georgiasouthern.edu
BITT Laboratory (Heat Transfer) Dr. Calamas (912) 478-5751 dcalamas@georgiasouthern.edu
Digital Surface Imaging Lab Dr. Vlcek (912) 478-5721 blvlcek@georgiasouthern.edu
Materials Research Lab Dr. Xu (912) 478-5006 shaowenxu@georgiasouthern.edu
Nanomaterials Research Lab Dr. Khan 912-478-8004 mkhan@georgiasouthern.edu
Renewable Energy and Engines Lab Dr. Soloiu (912) 478-2293 vsoloiu@georgiasouthern.edu

Last updated: 1/1/2018

College of Engineering and Computing  • PO Box 7995 Statesboro, GA 30460 • (912) 478-5473 • acarrano@georgiasouthern.edu